Page Loading... please wait!


This message not going away?
Ensure Javascript is on and click the box
Unregistered? Register for a user account. Home :: Downloads :: Submit News :: Reviews :: FAQ   

Online

There are 40 unlogged users and 0 registered users online.

You can log-in or register for a user account here.

Languages

Preferred language:



Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
guywithlamboOffline
Post subject: RE: :)  PostPosted: Apr 13, 2010 - 11:02 AM
KitCentral Fellow


Joined: Oct 02, 2006
Posts: 1337
Location: Thornhill,Ontario
Status: Offline
no. actualy more then 1/2 of us use Fiero that is cheap and has so many topics of how to , the other 1/2 used tube chassis . since Fieros are almost extinct, tube chassis are now used even on Murcs. MR2, are not too many around here .

I,ve seen some guys that stretched the Fiero as you did , now 11"-12" that's a lot . do you have to re do the inner cab body?? like rear widow fitting ?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
sumitsolanki2002Offline
Post subject: :)  PostPosted: Apr 13, 2010 - 11:16 AM
Senior Member


Joined: Jun 17, 2007
Posts: 149
Location: INDIA
Status: Offline
Yea , But I think Mr2 always has some edge over Fiero..

Chassis strength, little larger wheel base (1" make a diference).
toyota quality and easy availabilty of parts (even New ).

But more expensive than FIERO..Sad

As fars as of custom chassis..NO DOUBT>>>ITZ GREAT.
But take lotz of time + hard work + $$$ to complete the build.

@ guywithlambo, As Im building roadster therez no rear window.

I just need to extend the length of centre consol by adding some FRP (arm rest)a bit by mmmmm....10 inches..Smile (as i increased my wheel base by 10 inches).


Last edited by sumitsolanki2002 on Apr 13, 2010 - 11:22 AM; edited 1 time in total
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger  
Reply with quote Back to top
sumitsolanki2002Offline
Post subject: RE: :)  PostPosted: Apr 13, 2010 - 11:20 AM
Senior Member


Joined: Jun 17, 2007
Posts: 149
Location: INDIA
Status: Offline
Hey Guyz , I've 1 question for u all...
Why are you all using expensive V12 engine??? or V8...???/

Iam planning to swap my 190 hp MR2 engine by Supra twin turbo (remaped tuned) 460 BHP engine(can tuned upto 1000 BHP)..Smile
I think V12 is also producing 400BHP but its relatively heavier than v6 2.5ltr supra engine.
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger  
Reply with quote Back to top
guywithlamboOffline
Post subject: Re: :)  PostPosted: Apr 13, 2010 - 09:33 PM
KitCentral Fellow


Joined: Oct 02, 2006
Posts: 1337
Location: Thornhill,Ontario
Status: Offline
[quote="sumitsolanki2002"].


@ guywithlambo, As Im building roadster therez no rear window.

I have Roadter with rear window maybe something wrong with mine??
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
sumitsolanki2002Offline
12 Post subject: Oh..  PostPosted: Apr 14, 2010 - 07:18 AM
Senior Member


Joined: Jun 17, 2007
Posts: 149
Location: INDIA
Status: Offline
@ guywithlambo..

Sorry , I think U're talking about quarter window juss lyk 6.0...

Actually here, we called it a rear glass..:p

Well..Therez no change/modification...

will just put Hard Board below the rear glass..

Space between board and firewell can serve as a boot..Smile

sry again.
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger  
Reply with quote Back to top
jdinnerOffline
Post subject: Re: RE: :)  PostPosted: Apr 14, 2010 - 11:08 AM
KitCentral Fellow


Joined: Nov 10, 2003
Posts: 2999
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Status: Offline
sumitsolanki2002 wrote:
Hey Guyz , I've 1 question for u all...
Why are you all using expensive V12 engine??? or V8...???/

Iam planning to swap my 190 hp MR2 engine by Supra twin turbo (remaped tuned) 460 BHP engine(can tuned upto 1000 BHP)..Smile
I think V12 is also producing 400BHP but its relatively heavier than v6 2.5ltr supra engine.


How much money is it going to be to build a 460hp twin turbo Supra?

_________________
Visit http://jimdinner.wordpress.com/
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
sumitsolanki2002Offline
Post subject: @jdinner  PostPosted: Apr 14, 2010 - 05:15 PM
Senior Member


Joined: Jun 17, 2007
Posts: 149
Location: INDIA
Status: Offline
Haven't got the actual quotation yet..
But 2jz gte twin turbo (225 bhp) cost $500- $1000 in JAPAN.

BUT it must be way cheaper than BMW V12 (purchasing/labour/maintainance).

There is 1 person in INDIA who get his supra tuned to 700+ bhp and beat ferrari 360 in drag race..Smile

I dunt knw much about Engines and mod but they were talking about boost controlar, turbo kit,remapping...etc..Dunt knw..Sad

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vKFZV8lkZzM.

BUY ENGINES AND CAR PART FROM DUBAI, IF YOU WANT SOMETHING CHEAPER...SmileSmileSmileSmile

secret to build a cheaper car..Smile
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger  
Reply with quote Back to top
jdinnerOffline
Post subject: RE: @jdinner  PostPosted: Apr 14, 2010 - 09:45 PM
KitCentral Fellow


Joined: Nov 10, 2003
Posts: 2999
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Status: Offline
I bought two entire BMW 750's for $1100.00 Made one engine work and kept a bunch of parts.
With that I got the driveaxles, everything to make the engine run, emission systems and more. I sold a bunch of parts I don't need so it cost me very little.

_________________
Visit http://jimdinner.wordpress.com/
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
RJNOffline
Post subject: Re: @jdinner  PostPosted: Apr 14, 2010 - 10:19 PM
KitCentral Fellow


Joined: Apr 13, 2006
Posts: 332
Location: Oakville Ontario Canada
Status: Offline
sumitsolanki2002 wrote:



I dunt knw much about Engines and mod but they were talking about boost controlar, turbo kit,remapping...etc..Dunt knw..Sad

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vKFZV8lkZzM.

BUY ENGINES AND CAR PART FROM DUBAI, IF YOU WANT SOMETHING CHEAPER...SmileSmileSmileSmile

secret to build a cheaper car..Smile


Let me help you out since , as you say, you dont know much about engines....

Turbo small displacement motors fascinate the young people today because they view them as new technology when in fact the turbo on a road car is a misapplication... it was high technology in WWII for fighter planes using relatively narrow power bands. At high altitude the turbo gave consistent air pressure for maintaining high power levels, but at constant rpm. Cars do work that way, in that the rpm range is highly variable do you can never dial in a turbo to make consistent power at all points like you can a large displacement motor. Race cars and road cars that use turbos always have some kind of lag especially when the engines are small to begin with.
Secondly, Turbo motors are essentially disposable / destructive situations at the high power levels you are describing. A block and crank, especial the bearing saddles and bearings selected as well as the oiling system are not designed for the tork levels you are describing.... it will work fin for a while...but the mods to make it live for a reasonable amount of time are expensive.
Lastly, we use v12s because thats what Italian exotic cars have always used,...its the harmonically most perfect vibration free design, easy to make power and sounds like nothing else...

oh and lets not forget that people will just laugh if you you present them with a diablo replica that cost 80 grand to make but has a 4 banger motor...
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
sumitsolanki2002Offline
Post subject: Well...  PostPosted: Apr 15, 2010 - 04:28 AM
Senior Member


Joined: Jun 17, 2007
Posts: 149
Location: INDIA
Status: Offline
Ok..Understood.
Actually I got a V12 quotation from NAERC 2 year back and he told me Turnkey V12 cost me something around $ 20,000+ USD..Sad
infact u gt 2 bmws for $1100..he ask me $1200 just for re-maping. Sad

Well Iam using MR2 as a donor, cant fit V12 or V8 . Which other engine sould I use for better tourque + fuel economy.
NAERC suggested me 3.6 Buick (310bhp after remapping)??????
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger  
Reply with quote Back to top
RTOffline
Post subject: RE: Well...  PostPosted: Apr 15, 2010 - 04:51 AM
KitCentral Fellow


Joined: Feb 04, 2004
Posts: 1680
Location: Buckingham, PA, USA
Status: Offline
Check into what is available in India. Look at front-wheel drive cars and measure the space they take. These cars are what YOU make them. Get a complete engine/transaxle unit and squeeze it into your MR2.

RT

_________________
It isn't enough to want a Lambo, you have to want to BUILD A CAR!
http://www.flickr.com/photos/49982981@N00/
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
dleachOffline
Post subject: RE: Well...  PostPosted: Apr 15, 2010 - 07:24 AM
KitCentral Fellow


Joined: Sep 28, 2008
Posts: 814
Location: Fair Oaks, California
Status: Offline
Kind of off subject but, as I remember, most WWII fighter planes (Spitfire, Hurricane, P51, F6F Hellcat, F4U Corsair, Me109, Fw190 and the Zero) were supercharged. The P47 and P38 were turbocharged. Just a little "old guy" aircraft nostalgia.

Don
Building a 6.0
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
sumitsolanki2002Offline
Post subject: :(  PostPosted: Apr 15, 2010 - 09:13 AM
Senior Member


Joined: Jun 17, 2007
Posts: 149
Location: INDIA
Status: Offline
im already f****d up with suspension thing..How to widen it to get proper offset..Now this engine thing...

Well, It seems i need to spare another 7K- 10K for suspension + engine + brakes. Razz
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger  
Reply with quote Back to top
guywithlamboOffline
Post subject: RE: :(  PostPosted: Apr 15, 2010 - 10:59 AM
KitCentral Fellow


Joined: Oct 02, 2006
Posts: 1337
Location: Thornhill,Ontario
Status: Offline
see, that is why over here ,they use Fiero since there are tons of mods for susension and engine swap.
sorry can't help you re MR2.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
sumitsolanki2002Offline
Post subject: RE: :(  PostPosted: Apr 15, 2010 - 04:35 PM
Senior Member


Joined: Jun 17, 2007
Posts: 149
Location: INDIA
Status: Offline
Well yea, therez lotz of Mods available for Fiero.

I think extreme -sportscars also building Murci on MR2.
Does anybody know how does they manged proper offset for their wheels????

As Spacers are very cheap over here in INDIA (can get for around $20), but no sence of using it with 400 bhp drive train..Sad
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by PNphpBB2 © 2003-2006 The PNphpBB Group
Credits
 
Page created in 0.31771206855774 seconds.